Joint Ministerial Committee

The Joint Ministerial Committee (JMC) was established in 1999 between the UK Government and the devolved administrations in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Its purpose is to provide central coordination of the overall relationship between the administrations.

The Prime Minister chairs the JMC in its plenary form, and it brings together the leaders of the devolved administrations. There are also a number of sub-committees that meet to consider specific issues. The two that are currently active are:

  • JMC (Europe)
    Chaired by the Minister of State at the Department for Exiting the European Union, which meets quarterly, ahead of the European Council, to discuss matters that have a bearing on devolved responsibilities.
  • JMC (EU Negotiations)
    Chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, meets at regular intervals to facilitate collaboration between the UK Government and the devolved administrations on the UK’s exit from the European Union.

Find out more about the Joint Ministerial Committee via the following link:

Back to top