Appointment of Lord Justice of Appeal to the NI Judicial Appointments Commission

Date published: 04 May 2021

The First Minister, the Rt. Hon. Arlene Foster MLA, and the deputy First Minister, Michelle O’Neill MLA, have today appointed the Honourable Lord Justice Treacy to the NI Judicial Appointments Commission (NIJAC).


Lord Justice Treacy replaces Lord Justice Stephens as the Lord Justice of Appeal Commissioner in NIJAC.

The appointment is for a five year term, from 4 May 2021 to 3 May 2026.

Notes to editors: 

1. The Northern Ireland Judicial Appointments Commission (NIJAC) was established on 15 June 2005 under the Justice (Northern Ireland) Act 2002 as amended by the Justice (Northern Ireland) Act 2004.  On the devolution of policing and justice powers in April 2010 the remit of the Commission was further expanded and NIJAC is currently responsible for selecting and appointing, or recommending for appointment, applicants in respect of all listed judicial offices up to and including High Court Judge.

2. The Commission comprises a Chairman who is the Lord Chief Justice and 12 other members:

  • five Judicial Members (nominated by the Lord Chief Justice);
  • two Legal Profession Members (a barrister nominated by the General Council of the Bar and a solicitor nominated by the Law Society); and
  • five Lay Members (Recruited by an open competition regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments NI.)

3.  The Executive Office holds sponsorship responsibility for the Commission and the 2002 Act provides for the First Minister and deputy First Minister to appoint Commissioners.

4. Lord Justice Treacy was educated at Queen’s University Belfast.  He was called to the Bar of Northern Ireland in 1979 and took silk in 1999.  He was called to the Bar of Ireland in September 1990 and to the Inner Bar of Ireland in 2000.  He practised as a barrister since 1980, concentrating mainly in human rights, criminal law, judicial review and public inquiries.  He was appointed as a High Court Judge on 29 January, 2007.  He was the Senior Judicial Review Judge from January 2009 until September 2015 when he became the Senior Criminal Judge.  On 8 November 2017 he was appointed as a Lord Justice of Appeal.  He is the Senior Divisional Court Judge.  He was Visiting Professor of the University of Ulster (2009-2012), Judge in Residence of the University of Ulster (2011-2015) and Visitor to University of Ulster (2016 – 2018).

5. Judicial members with the exception of the lay magistrate are not remunerated for their appointment.

6. Media enquiries to The Executive Office press office via email:

Share this page

Back to top