Fearon congratulates Pride of Place winners

Date published: 26 November 2016

Junior Minister, Megan Fearon has paid tribute to the winners and nominees of the 2016 IPB Pride of Place Awards at a ceremony in the Waterfront Hall, Belfast.


Pride of Place, an all-Ireland competition which has been operating since 2003, recognises and celebrates the vital contributions voluntary groups and individuals make to their local community.

Speaking at the event, Junior Minister, Megan Fearon said: “It’s an honour to attend tonight’s Pride of Place Awards and recognise the great work community groups and volunteers are doing in their areas to make them better places to live, work and socialise.  At the heart of these awards, is local people coming together to shape, change and enjoy all that is good in their neighbourhood, whether it be a town, village or city.

“Working together is key and tonight has recognised very deserving winners but also highlighted the wonderful work of many more community groups and individuals across Ireland who are all playing a very important part in improving their communities.

“Collaborative working resonates with our aims for the Executive’s Programme for Government.   We will work together with organisations and individuals in the true spirit of partnership to make real, meaningful societal changes for the better. 

 “This event shows what brilliant results can be achieved with hard work, imagination and by working together, and I very much hope it inspires others to get involved in their own areas to help make a positive difference.”

Notes to editors: 

Media enquiries to TEO Press Office on 028 9037 8142. Out of office hours contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number on 07623 974 383 and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top