Functions of the new Executive Office

Date published: 09 May 2016

The Executive Office comes into effect today.


The new department assumes most of the roles and responsibilities of the former OFMDFM department.

Some of the functions of OFMDFM have transferred to other departments, including Finance, Education, Communities and Justice.

The changes are all part of the ‘Fresh Start’ agreement which involves restructuring the Northern Ireland government departments and reducing them in number from 12 to nine.

An overview of all departmental changes, including their functions, is available at nidirect

News releases from April 2007 are available to view on the Public Records Northern Ireland (PRONI) website.

Share this page

Back to top